What am I going to tell my boss?

I am drafting an argument that I am presenting to leadership tomorrow. I have 15 minutes to describe, educate, and influence our organizations burgeoning Social Media strategy.

For those of you that both actively and passively interact with this blog, please consider taking a moment to comment below with what you think the most important points of that discussion should be.

My outline thus far has (in no particular order):

Quick intro to E2.0, Web2.0, Social Media, Gov2.0 terms.

The social media tools and the properties of what makes those tools successful, (SLATES).

The values and culture of the coming workforce that want access to these tools and are used to working as networks toward a common goal.

How to create an environment that allows these new workers (and their networks) to succeed or exceed current efforts against stated goals.

This culture is not about superstars, but large numbers of high performing individuals working as a network, enabled by these technologies, and motivated by common values.

Again, if you see anything glaringly absent, or you think it more important, please let me know.

I am going to post this work this evening when I am done writing, and your thoughts and comments will have been considered.

(Have a terrific week).

– GLS.

3 Responses to “What am I going to tell my boss?”

  1. I think the list is a good start. I think one thing you are missing is why people are using the tools, rather than just focusing on the tools themselves. I have had more success talking about these sort of issues when I frame it in terms of how people might shift current processes into open channels, rather than simply talking about the new channels. It’s important for leaders to understand that their people aren’t doing more work, but rather doing that same work in a new way.

    • Lance Strzok Says:

      Thanks Justin,

      I completely agree, I intend to cover the “why” people are using these tools when I discuss the culture and values that are embracing these tools because of what they allow them to do. I would say it is never the tools, we have seen all the darling apps come, rise, and either sustain or dwindle, but if they have merit, they have value. My only discussion of the tools themselves is a list of what is available with their functional equivalent on the www and primary use. I’d rather spend time covering the values and culture that are adopting the tools then the tools themselves.

      Thanks for the comment, and have a terrific week.

      -GLS

  2. Chris Rasmussen Says:

    the first thing any “reform” playbook will list at the top is to create a sense of urgency. We’ve lost it! Whenever I brief seniors of give talks I always frame the issue in the context of the failing analytic transformation movement and that over 5 years has passed since the introduction of many of these tools.

    The excitement of 2006-2007 when the possibility of things to come was new has come and gone. The product-centric view of intelligence is the root cause of the problem. If these tools are not used to reform that view, as I stated many many times, all this “2.0” is a marginal revolution simply treating symptoms.

Leave a Reply

