Beyond Facebook’s “like” or Google’s “plus1” buttons

There is some value in a like or plus1 button, it is easy and quick to indicate to others that you somehow agreed with the content, but it would certainly have more value to others, yourself, and potentially both Facebook and Google if you could have a pop up when you hover over the button, and select from a list of options what it is about the object that you want to categorize it with. Furthermore, if you hovered over one of the menu items, a final menu could come up with something similar to a Likert scale of 1-5 after each item (ie Agree 1=slightly agree, 3=agree, 5=definitely agree) & so on. (Thx Che)

Some ideas on the categories behind the “like or plus1” could be:

Agree

Disagree

Funny

Personal

Useful

Breaking

Spam

Check Facts (Thx Che)

Biased (Thx Che)

Having this option would help in categorizing content, and help others to understand why you hit the button in the first place. Although as (Jack) points out, not all things will warrant a comment, but it would be nice to be able to do so if you were so compelled.

Apparently Slashdot has done something similar to this, and it appears to have worked very well for them. (Thx Robert R.)

With that being said, what would you want to see as options to tag it with, and would you take that moment to do so?

Cheers!

8 Responses to “Beyond Facebook’s “like” or Google’s “plus1” buttons”

  1. robertrapplean Says:

    This is the approach that SlashDot took, and it worked really well for them. It also allowed a person to express less interest in some things. I always browsed with a -1 to funny and a +1 to insightful because I find that SlashDotters get unnecessarily worked up about things that are only vaguely funny.

    • Lance Strzok Says:

      Robert,
      I guess it was just wishful thinking to hope it was an original thought, oh well, still, I like the idea. I also like some of the comments that were made in the other responses, so I may wrap them up into the post. Thanks for taking a moment to share your thoughts on my post- I am very appreciative of feedback. Cheers!

  2. Three thoughts:
    1. Adding to your list items, I suggest something similar to a Likert scale of 1-5 after each item (ie Agree 1=slightly agree, 3=agree, 5=definitely agree) & so on with your list items

    2. I’d add a “Check Your Facts” button letting the person(s) know that some of their data in incorrect

    3. I’d add a “Check Your Biases” button letting the person(s) know that some of their statements are biases, perceptions, stereotypes, subjective, or something to that effect

    • Lance Strzok Says:

      Che,
      I like each of the ideas you shared. In fact, after I had written the post, I started thinking of the way that if you hovered over the “plus 1 button”, another menu would pop up with the (menu from above – each item listed) then as you moved over more still, you could add a numerical value like you suggest in your first suggestion. That would be pretty sweet, so you would have a category of comment, as well as a value of how strongly you feel in the direction of that comment. I like it even more. Thanks!

  3. I like your thoughts on this and I think it would have meaning to the mainstream public. I’m not clear as to why I would want to categorize impressions people provide me on a general post (i.e., facebook, google+, etc.). That said, I do see the utility in a work related or more professional correspondence, such as this blog.

    • Lance Strzok Says:

      Jack,
      I take your point, I was in fact thinking of more of the work or knowledge sharing aspects. You are right in that a lot of posts are of the (walking my cat) type of post where there is not much in the way of value to a large group, but may be important to a couple of people. I think that was roughly the menu item called personal, but there might be a better menu name for posts that may have value to a few, but not much to a number of others. Thanks for your thoughts- Cheers!

  4. I’m all for it! On my blog there is a facebook like button and if you click it the like gets submitted, but if you hover it allows you to add a comment as well.

    I like the opportunity to be simple or add some detail. I mean in facebook a like isnt all that special, but a comment is.

    (never actually commented on slashdot, will have to check that out).

  5. ebooks…

    […]Beyond Facebook’s “like” or Google’s “plus1″ buttons « Lance's GPB[…]…

Leave a Reply

